Inside the Fort San Domingo site is the 1891 Former British Consular Residence, an elegant red-brick Victorian-style house, complete with furnishings re-created from photographic records. The consulate was closed in Japanese times, then reopened after WWII until 1972 when Britain closed it down. London has recognised the PRC since 1950. The residence is a western building that was the third consular residence (also the last one) built by Great Britain in Taiwan. The graceful building was designed by the British and built by Chinese craftsmen. The walls used Chinese red bricks and there is a Min-Nan red-tile roof, giving the…

This 200m-long swaying pedestrian bridge was built by the Japanese in 1937. It offers a great vantage point from which to gaze south towards the forested hills of Taiwan's northern mountain range, or back up the river to the concrete jaws of the city.On the bridge, the entire river and shore view of the “Bitan Scenic Area” is in sight. Below, visitors can surf around the lake in a water bike (aka swan boat), or rent a bike to explore the gorgeous scenery of the area along the lakeside bikeway. Travel Info Bitan Suspension Bridge [碧潭吊橋/ Bì Tán Diaò Chiaó]…

Tamsui's most famous sight is Fort San Domingo. The original fort, built in 1628 during the Spanish occupation of Taiwan (1626–41), was dismantled by the Spanish before they left. The 13m-high structure seen today is the Fort Anthonio built by the Dutch in 1644. These days the original Spanish name is used, though to locals it's still the Red Haired Fortress (a reference to the color of Dutch hair). The fort was under Chinese control from 1683 to 1868 when the British leased it, painted it red and made it their consulate. Note there is a small Tourist Information Office…

Aletheia University, located next to Fort San Domingo, the first Western university in Taiwan, founded by George Leslie Mackay. The university's original building, Oxford College, was built in 1882 and fronts a Chinese-style pond and a large, more recent chapel. The university still operates as a centre of learning, so visitors are only allowed to wander the grounds and buildings at opening hours.     If you ask me where is the most beautiful university in Taipei, I will absolutely tell you Aletheia University without hesitation. It's  beautiful everywhere, Especially the chapel, which exterior appearance adopted Gothic architecture, interior with conventional design.…

Located on the beautiful campus of Tamkang University, it's a 2,134 square meter shipbuilding. It was used to be a college which specializes in cultivating marine and marine engineering talents. Since the policy changed, it turned into a museum, which was the fisty "maritime museum" in Taiwan. It was opened on June 6,1990, and was free to visit. This four-storey museum (shaped like an ocean liner) is anchored by dozens of large model ships from around the world. Expect steamers, frigates, explorers' ships and aircraft carriers as well as information on the Chinese Admiral Zheng He's travels around the world. Travel Info…

"The Museum of World Religions belongs to all faiths. Its founding is inspiring and encouraging interfaith dialogue so that we all work together to create peace and understanding in the world we share." Though founded by a Buddhist order, this museum aims not to promote Buddhism, but to build harmony by showing the communality of all religions. Highlights include detailed scale models of the world's great religious holy sites such as Islam's Dome of the Rock, Sikhism's Golden Temple and Christianity's Chartres Cathedral; remarkably, the insides of these models can be viewed via tiny cameras. The museum also features riveting…

Tamsui is a vivid township with an enriched historical background. With beautiful ocean and mountain sceneries, Tamsui is the favorite visiting attraction closest to Taipei City. Just behind Tamsui MRT on the riverside, Tamsui Cultural Park(淡水文化園區) was once the Shell Tamsui Warehouse: as in Royal Dutch Shell, that is.  It was the warehouse to store tea related products by the British tea merchants. Later, bought by the Shell Oil Company, was expanded into four large warehouse and oil tanks. The warehouse once played a role in the global oil business. After the bombing by U.S. in 1944, the warehouse burned for three days…

Stretching far out into the East China Sea, this limestone cape has long attracted people to its delightfully odd rock formations. Yehliu Geopark(野柳地質公園) is a geologist's dreamland but also a fascinating place for the day tripper. Home to a number of unique geological formations including the iconic "Queen's Head" (女王頭), it's one of the premier destinations in northern Taiwan. The total distance measured from the entrance of the Yehliu Geopark to the end of the cape is about 1.7 km; the widest area in between is shorter than 300 m. The distance measured from Yehliu Stop at Jijin Highway to…

About 1km beyond Fort San Domingo on Zhongzheng Rd is the turn-off for Hobe Fort, built in 1886 when then governor Liu Ming-chuan was attempting to shore up Taiwan's defences to protect it against foreign invaders. If Fort San Domingo is meant to convey authority, Hobe Fort was built for military action.  This prime heritage spot (it's suffered almost no reconstruction) has thick earthen walls, massive gates, four batteries and steep steps to its ramparts to deter intruders. While it was used by the Japanese as a base for artillery firing practice, the fort never saw any military action.The admission fee includes…

When people mentioning about Houtong, what comes up next must be the cats. There is a village in Houtong with cats everywhere, Cat Village. Located next to “Houtong Station,” the “Houtong Cat Village” is one of the famous tourist attractions in New Taipei City. It was once recommended by CNN as the world’s top 6 cat admiring attractions.  This former coal-mining village managed to revive itself in the 21st century by tapping into cats. Villagers here traditionally kept cats because houses were built on the hillside where rats were rampant. After the closure of the coal mines, the area went into…